History of the Country Club Inn
RANGELEY – Much of Rangeley’s “special quality” was the result of its discovery by early fly fisherman. These men brought home tales of the countless trout and salmon to be caught in our pristine lakes. The word spread fast and was heeded by a select class of fishermen with the financial means and cultivated vision which combined to make Rangeley a remarkable resort by the turn of the century.
Every summer, judges and doctors and artists and musicians and writers and their families boarded trains with trunks enough to live in a grand style for an entire summer. They imported their tastes in music and books and all fine things and Rangeley began in many quiet and subtle ways, to reflect those tastes.
COUNTRY CLUB INN – Six millionaire sportsmen built a private lodge and 9-hole golf course in the 1920’s. They located it on a 2000’ promontory, with massive fireplaces and 360 degree views of the lake and mountains. In 1950, twenty guest rooms and the dining room were added and the golf course was sold off separately. It was turned into an 18-hole public course, with the first tee still just being steps away from the Inn.
In 1975 Bob & Sue Crory purchased the property and named it the Country Club Inn. They use their many years of Innkeeping experience to make it a sophisticated little resort catering to only 40 guests desiring casual luxury, tranquility and warm hospitality. They raised their children at the Inn, and in 1995, their daughter Margie and husband Steve Jamison purchased the Inn. To this day, Margie & Steve are now raising their family at this Inn, and are continuing to carry on that special magic that Bob and Sue Crory created.